School Logo

Friar's Grove Primary School

Growing minds and hearts for a whole world of opportunity.

Interactive Bar


Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



Meet the Governors


Introduction from the Chair of Governors


The Governing Body of Friar’s Grove Primary School is made up of 15 members:

. 3 parent governors

. 1 LA governor

. 2 staff governors (including the Head teacher)

. 9 co-opted governors.

Our governors are chosen for their skills and their commitment to the school which is required for the effective governance and continued success of the school.

The Full Governing Body has delegated to sub-committees various aspects of its operation with the two main committees being the Premises, Finance and Personnel (PFP) (10 members) and the Curriculum and Pupil related (9 members). Governors are appointed on a four year basis.

In accordance with the Governments requirement for all governing bodies, the 3 core strategic functions of Friars Grove Primary School Governing body are:

1. Ensure clarity of vision, ethos, values and strategic direction;

2. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Vacancies arise for new Governors from time to time. If you are interested in becoming a governor please email the Chair of Governors on


For more information on what the role involves, the Governance Handbook is available here -


Membership of the Friar's Grove Governing Body 2021-22


Governors serve a four year term of office. (Date when term of office expires listed below).

Rod Goody - Chair of Governors (31/08/2023)

Laura Sargent – Vice Chair (31/08/23)

Jeremy Gush - Local Authority (31/08/2026)

Helen McCombe - Co-opted (30/09/2026)

Martyn Mellis - Co-opted (30/09/2026)

Ian Levinson – Co-opted (03/04/2024)

Mark Pettit – Parent (29/11/25)

Rhoslynn Frost – Parent (04/02/23)

Sarah Monks – Parent (13/03/23)

Christine McDonald - Co-opted (TBC)

Toni Copp – Deputy Headteacher 

Susan Shipp - Headteacher



Attendance Record for governors 2021-22  - currently being updated